Arctic wolf

Arctic Wolf Thumbnail

See also: Arctic Wolf Pictures

The Arctic Wolf (Canis lupus arctos) is a subspecies of the Gray Wolf. It is also known as the white wolf and the snow wolf. Arctic wolves have called the most northern parts of North America home; Alaska, the Canadian Arctic and Greenland.

The Arctic Wolf lives in a very remote, and very harsh environment. Studies suggest the Arctic Wolf has lived within its range for more than two million years, and their isolated ecosystem has protected it, and the wolves themselves, from human encroachment. Every other subspecies of Gray Wolf has seen its original range decreased.

Due to their northerly location, the Arctic wolves have a very thick, insulated white-colored fur. This allows them to withstand sub-zero temperatures for years. They can go for weeks with no food, and also experience 5 months of darkness every year. The Arctic wolf is a tough and resilient animal.

Arctic wolves live in packs that can reach 20 members. They will start as one or multiple breeding pairs (including the alphas) and then have pups. As the pups grow, the entire pack takes care of all the pups in the pack. While most Arctic Wolves are seen in packs, an Arctic wolf can also travel alone (lone wolf), but will find its own territory and start recruiting other lone wolves to join its pack.

Arctic Wolf Taxonomical Classification

  • Kingdom: Animalia
  • Phylum: Chordata
  • Class: Mammalia
  • Order: Carnivora
  • Family: Canidae
  • Genus: Canis
  • Species: C. lupus
  • Subspecies: C. l. arctos
  • Trinomial name: Canis lupus arctos