Eurasian wolf

Eurasian Wolf Thumbnail

See also: Eurasian Wolf Pictures

The gray wolf with the largest range of all subspecies is the Eurasian Wolf (Canis lupus lupus), and it is also the nominate subspecies. Their range covers Russia, China, Scandinavia, the Himalayan Mountains and western Europe, among some other surrounding countries. The Eurasian Wolf is also commonly known as the European wolf, the Forest wolf, and also the Common wolf. The classification Canis lupus lupus has grown to include many variants of the Eurasian wolf, as surrounding geographical subspecies were originally thought of as separate subspecies, but are now considered synonyms. The bloodlines of the Eurasian wolf have been traced back almost 150,000 years.

Displacement of prey coupled with habitat reduction by humans has produced smaller ranges for individual Eurasian wolf packs to roam. Whereas a North American wolf species can have a range up to 2500 square km, Eurasian wolf packs are usually limited to a maximum of 500 square km. However, due to their longer exposure to human civilization, Eurasian wolfs tend to be more adaptable to an ever changing environment and higher human populations.

The sizes of Eurasian wolves vary based on geographical areas. Eurasian wolves found in Russia tend to be larger, with adults reaching a weight of 175 lbs (although the average weight is about 90 lbs), 160 cm in length, 85 cm high at the shoulder. The largest Eurasian wolf found in Russia/USSR on record weighed in at 190 lbs.

Eurasian Wolf Taxonomical Classification

  • Kingdom: Animalia
  • Phylum: Chordata
  • Class: Mammalia
  • Order: Carnivora
  • Family: Canidae
  • Genus: Canis
  • Species: C. lupus
  • Subspecies: C. l. lupus
  • Trinomial name: Canis lupus lupus

Picture source: Daniel Mott from Stockholm, Sweden