Mogollon Mountain Wolf

The Mogollon Mountain Wolf (Canis lupus mogollonensis) is a sub-species of the Gray Wolf that was declared extinct in 1942.

It shared a population range of both Arizona and New Mexico with the Mexican Wolf and Texan Wolf. Due to this shared range and slight differences between surrounding wolf subspecies, the Mogollon Mountain Wolf, Texan Wolf, and Mexican Wolf were conglomerated into one subspecies classification in 1982. A "zone of subspecies intergradation" was declared in the area these wolves live in.

The Mogollon Mountain Wolf reached a maximum weight of 36 kg and could reach 1.5 meters long. These wolves were smaller than their geographically surrounding cousins. They had tawny, light brown mixed with black fur.

Mogollon Mountain Wolf Taxonomical Classification

  • Kingdom: Animalia
  • Phylum: Chordata
  • Class: Mammalia
  • Order: Carnivora
  • Family: Canidae
  • Genus: Canis
  • Species: C. lupus
  • Subspecies: C. l. mogollonensis
  • Trinomial name: Canis lupus mogollonensis